Team effort wins titles: Gambhir

New Delhi [India], Mar. 8 : Individual brilliance can win a few games, but to win a tournament, teamwork is needed, according to newly-appointed Delhi Daredevils skipper Gautam Gambhir. "I don't like talking about individuals, it is unfair for me as a captain to talk about one player to whom I am looking forward to. I am looking forward to the entire 25 people in the squad. Those are the 25 people who are going help us win the tournament," told the media here. "Everyone will contribute in their own way. It is not just about the playing XI, it is about the rest of the 14 players as well. They will try and contribute in whatever way they can. All the contributions play a very important role if you want to go all the way," he added. Speaking about the role of former Australian skipper Ricky Ponting as the coach of Delhi Daredevils, Gambhir said, "I think Ricky Ponting is coming to a winning group, three times he has been a part of a World Cup-winning team. As a player and as a captain he has seen ups and downs." "He has captained Australia for a very long time. It is important for any player if a winner comes to your side. He has seen every kind of situation and knows how to take best out of any player. It is an advantage for any captain if a coach like him comes to the team," the former Indian opener added. Gambhir also expressed his happiness to play for Delhi Daredevils again, "I always wanted to come back and play for Delhi again. A year back, I mentioned somewhere that it would be good that if I can come back to Delhi and finish my career here. An auction is something that is very unpredictable, was keeping my fingers crossed as well that I can play for Delhi, it is good to be back." Gambhir had earlier led the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) for seven years in the Indian Premier League (IPL). He also led the franchise to two IPL titles in 2012 and 2014. The 36-year-old was released by the KKR and he was bought by Delhi Daredevils for Rs 2.8 crore at the IPL player auction for the 11th edition of the league. The IPL 2018 will begin from April 7. Delhi Daredevils Squad: Gautam Gambhir (C), Jason Roy, Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer, Manjot Kalra, Colin Munro, Rishabh Pant, Naman Ojha, Chris Morris, Glenn Maxwell, Vijay Shankar, Daniel Christian, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Jayant Yadav, Kagiso Rabada, Mohammad Shami, Trent Boult, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Sayan Ghosh, Amit Mishra, Shahbaz Nadeem, Rahul Tewatia, Abhishek Sharma, Sandeep Lamichhane
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :