Sushma Swaraj to chair interactive session on Act East Policy

New Delhi [India], May 3 (ANI): External Affairs Minister (EAM) Sushma Swaraj will be chairing an interactive session on the Act East Policy on Friday in the national capital. Chief Ministers of eight North Eastern states of our country; Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Sikkim, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Tripura have been invited to attend this meeting. They will be accompanied by senior officials from the States who deal with policy issuesrelated to the subject. "Dignitaries who are expected to attend the meeting include Dr Rajiv Kumar, Vice Chairman, Niti Aayog and Gen(Dr) VK Singh (Retd), Minister of State for External Affairs. Foreign Secretary, Secretary(East) from the Ministry of External Affairs as well as Secretaries from the Ministry of DoNER, Tourism and North Eastern Council will also participate in the discussions," the Ministry of External Affairs, said, in a statement. Senior Officials from other Line Ministries of the Government of India to include Ministry of Road Transport and Highways, Ministry of Commerce and Industry, Ministry of Civil Aviation, Ministry of Home Affairs and Ministry of External Affairs, have also been invited to the meeting to provide a comprehensive policy view. The statement added that following the successful ASEAN India Commemorative Summit that was hosted by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on January 25, this meeting will further underscore Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi's vision of keeping the Northeast at the heart of India's "Act East Policy" and the ongoing engagement with ASEAN.(ANI)
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :